A Guide to Zamość

Please wait...
Historical buildings

Bastion No. 1

From among the seven bastions in Zamość fortress Bastion No. 1 was the least lucky.

Mean rating

 
 

Information

From among the seven bastions in Zamość fortress Bastion No. 1 was the least lucky. First Russians destroyed it when liquidating the fortress. Then in 1916 Austrians cut it in half while laying the rails of a new railway line from Zamość to Hrubieszów. The line is still used, which makes it impossible to rebuild the bastion. However, between 2007 and 2009  the wall of the casemate and a fragment of the orillion adjacent to the bastion as well as a 70-m section of the curtain wall with embrasures were reconstructed.  

At present the casemate houses a gym, where members of Zamość Club of Traditional Karate train for competitions.

The landmark is included in audio guides

ipod

The project was co-financed by the EUROPEAN UNION - EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND under REGIONAL OPERATING PROGRAMME OF THE PROVINCE OF LUBELSKIE FOR 2007-2013© Zamość Town Office