A Guide to Zamość

Language
Please wait...
Sightseeing routes

What is worth seeing

Information about the route

Fortifications are definitely a must for every visitor. What makes them even more interesting...
More about route ...

  • The Szczebrzeska Gate

    The gate was used by travellers heading for Szczebrzeszyn and Kraków and, after...

    More..
    : m
  • The Rotunda

    It is a fortification structure built on a circular plan between 1825 and 1831. Originally it was...

    More..
    : m
  • Bastion No. 1

    From among the seven bastions in Zamość fortress Bastion No. 1 was the least lucky.

    More..
    : m
  • The Watergate

    Remains of the watergate were found by accident during earthwork carried out in 1978.

    More..
    : m
  • The New Lwowska Gate

    It was built in 1820 according to Jan Paweł Lelewel’s design and took over...

    More..
    : m
  • The Old Lwowska Gate

    The gate was built about 1600 and designed by Bernardo Morando. The passage has a tunnel...

    More..
    : m
  • Entrenchment of Bastion No. 7

    The entrenchment is a monumental, two-storey edifice, made from red brick with masonry...

    More..
    : m
  • Bastion No. 7

    It i the most eastbound and the mightiest bastion from among the seven bastions of Zamość fortress.

    More..
    : m
  • The curtain wall

    The curtain wall which joins Bastions No. 6 and 7 was blown up during the liquidation...

    More..
    : m
  • Entrenchment of Bastion No. 6

    It is one of the two facilities of this kind in the town. Built between 1827 and 1835 it originally.

    More..
    : m
  • The New Lubelska Gate

    It was built between 1821 and 1822 as one of the two gates erected during the modernization...

    More..
    : m
  • The Old Lubelska Gate

    It was one of the three town gates. Its Mannerist elevation is topped with a low relief...

    More..
    : m
  • The caponier

    The caponier by the Old Lubelska Gate is the only facility of this type to have been preserved...

    More..
    : m
  • Bastion No. 4

    Today a former bastion constitutes an attraction of the Town Park. Its flanks descend steeply...

    More..
    : m
  • The Arsenal

    The Arsenal was built about 1630, most probably according to Andrea dell’Agua’s...

    More..

The project was co-financed by the EUROPEAN UNION - EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND under REGIONAL OPERATING PROGRAMME OF THE PROVINCE OF LUBELSKIE FOR 2007-2013© Zamość Town Office