A Guide to Zamość

Please wait...
Historical buildings

The New Lubelska Gate

It was built between 1821 and 1822 as one of the two gates erected during the modernization...

Mean rating

 
 

Information

It was built between 1821 and 1822 as one of the two gates erected during the modernization of the fortress. From the side of the town the passage is supplemented with two smaller arcades, leading to guard rooms. The gate is distinguished by architectural details, with a monumental brick and stone facade. Crude stone blocks form not only the frames of the arcade passage with a mighty keystone but also the beautiful, Doric entablature, which crowns the façade. Oak sprigs carved in stone on the exterior elevation symbolise courage. Above the keystone there are traces of a hacked off initial of Tsar Alexander the First.

A wooden bridge supported by the remains of a caponier joins the bridge to an earthwork called a ravelin, on which there is a monument to King David (description under a bookmark entitled  “Monuments”). The gate is joined to the entrenchment by means of a section of a curtain wall reconstructed between 2007 and 2009.

At present the gate houses a restaurant and a gallery.

The landmark is included in audio guides

ipod

The project was co-financed by the EUROPEAN UNION - EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND under REGIONAL OPERATING PROGRAMME OF THE PROVINCE OF LUBELSKIE FOR 2007-2013© Zamość Town Office