A Guide to Zamość

Please wait...
Historical buildings

The Arsenal

The Arsenal was built about 1630, most probably according to Andrea dell’Agua’s...

Mean rating

 
 

Information

The Arsenal was built about 1630, most probably according to Andrea dell’Agua’s design. Zamość Arsenal is one of few military buildings of this type preserved in Poland. At present the 63-m long, white, two-storey edifice houses The ARSENAŁ Museum of Weapons Branch of the Zamojskie Museum (description under the bookmark entitled “Museums”). Opposite the Arsenal, on the other side of Zamkowa Street, there is a red brick building of a former powder magazine, built on the plateau of Bastion No. 3. Since the soil was marshy, originally two small bastions were built here. At the end of the 17th century Jan Michał Link erected a very modern bastion with two levels of artillery stands. Only earth escarpments of the faces of the bastion have been preserved.

The landmark is included in audio guides

ipod

The project was co-financed by the EUROPEAN UNION - EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND under REGIONAL OPERATING PROGRAMME OF THE PROVINCE OF LUBELSKIE FOR 2007-2013© Zamość Town Office