It was built in 1820 according to Jan Paweł Lelewel’s design and took over the function of the Old Lwowska Gate, walled up two years earlier. The former passage is marked on the Classicist façade. Above the passage there is an initial “AI” of Alexander the First, the then reigning Russian Tsar and king of the Kingdom of Poland. The keystone features a tsarist mitre.
After the fortress was closed down and a street was marked out near the gate, the building performed different functions. From 1919 it housed the first power plant in Zamość for a few years and now it houses the Karol Namysłowski Symphonic Orchestra.
The landmark is included in audio guides