A Guide to Zamość

Please wait...
Historical buildings

The Szczebrzeska Gate

The gate was used by travellers heading for Szczebrzeszyn and Kraków and, after...

Mean rating

 
 

Information

The gate was used by travellers heading for Szczebrzeszyn and Kraków and, after the Old Lubelska Gate was walled up, also by those who were going to Lublin and Warsaw. It was built between 1603 and 1605 and designed most probably by Bernardo Morando. The Szczebrzeska Gate differed significantly from the remaining two gates since it was a three-axial and two-storey building. After the fortress was closed down in 1866 and a new street was marked out next to the gate, it was walled up. Its passage was opened during a major renovation carried out between 2007 and 2009; a fragment of the adjacent curtain wall with a firing gallery was also reconstructed. The stone and brick external facade is decorated with interesting entablature and the keystone features a tsarist mitre.

East of the gate there are ruins of a flank of Bastion No. 2.

A small, one-storey Classicist building covered with an embankment overgrown with grass in the car park is a guard house. It was built in 1825. Its brick elevations with a row of embrasures in the western wall, masonry rustications, arcades and gargoyles are very similar to the other fortress facilities erected in Zamość in the second quarter of the 19th century.

The landmark is included in audio guides

ipod

The project was co-financed by the EUROPEAN UNION - EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND under REGIONAL OPERATING PROGRAMME OF THE PROVINCE OF LUBELSKIE FOR 2007-2013© Zamość Town Office