A Guide to Zamość

Please wait...
Attractions

The “Arsenał” Museum of Weapons

The “Arsenał” Museum of Weapons is a branch of the Zamojskie Museum.

Mean rating

 
 

Information

The “Arsenał” Museum of Weapons is a branch of the Zamojskie Museum. It is situated in the building of a former arsenal and is closely connected with the times of the founder of Zamość, Chancellor and Great Crown Hetman Jan Zamoyski, who kept the town’s ample stock of weaponry and his spoils of war in the building. On the ground floor there are two permanent exhibitions: the first one, entitled “Jan Zamoyski’s Arsenal” presents mostly old weapons and the second one, entitled “The History of Zamość Fortress from 1580 till 1866” consists of models and maps of the fortress.

Temporary exhibitions are presented on the first floor.

In summer, from May till September, an open-air exhibition entitled “Second World War Artillery and Armoured Weapons” is available to visitors.  The exhibits, which  include tanks, guns and planes, have become a major attraction for the youngest enthusiasts of history.

The landmark is included in audio guides

ipod

Detailed information

website
www.muzeumarsenal.pl
e-mail
biuro@muzeum-zamojskie.pl Form
telephone2
882 106 007

The project was co-financed by the EUROPEAN UNION - EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND under REGIONAL OPERATING PROGRAMME OF THE PROVINCE OF LUBELSKIE FOR 2007-2013© Zamość Town Office