A Guide to Zamość

Please wait...
Historical buildings

St. Clare Sisters’ convent and church

The small, one-nave Baroque church was founded by Anna Zamoyska, née Gnińska...

Mean rating

 
 

Information

The small, one-nave Baroque church was founded by Anna Zamoyska, née Gnińska, the wife of the fourth Entailer Marcin Zamoyski in 1696 and designed by Jan Michał Link. The adjacent three-winged convent was built between 1769 and 1774 and founded by the seventh Entailer Jan Jakub Zamoyski. St. Clare Sisters did not have a chance to use their convent for too long; after the convent was dissolved, the building was taken over by Franciscan monks and then by the Sisters of Mercy. In 1817 the building housed a military hospital. Between the two wars it was a seat of the police and after WWII in 1985 an orphanage was moved here.

Since 2010 the building has housed the Karol Szymanowski State Music School of the First and Second Degree.

The landmark is included in audio guides

ipod

The project was co-financed by the EUROPEAN UNION - EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND under REGIONAL OPERATING PROGRAMME OF THE PROVINCE OF LUBELSKIE FOR 2007-2013© Zamość Town Office