A Guide to Zamość

Please wait...
Historical buildings

The Church of St. Nicholas

The church was built between 1618 and 1631, at the site of a former Greek Orthodox Church.

Mean rating

 
 

Information

The church was built between 1618 and 1631, at the site of a former Greek Orthodox Church. In view of a close vicinity of fortress walls, the tower of the church was used as an observation deck and a shooting range. The first owners of the church were members of the Russian Orthodox Brotherhood. In 1706 the church was taken over by Basilian monks, in 1865 by Orthodox Christians and since 1917 Roman Catholics have used the church as a place of worship. At first it used to be a school church and since 1934 it has been taken care of by Redemptorist Fathers.

The church has a very interesting appearance but many alterations made by successive owners have changed its interior so much that very little of its original furnishing has been preserved. In the vestibule there is a Renaissance portal decorated with rosettes and next to it a modest, Baroque stoup made of black marble. The ceiling of the nave and apses is decorated with fine stuccoes.

The landmark is included in audio guides

ipod

The project was co-financed by the EUROPEAN UNION - EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND under REGIONAL OPERATING PROGRAMME OF THE PROVINCE OF LUBELSKIE FOR 2007-2013© Zamość Town Office