A Guide to Zamość

Please wait...
Historical buildings

The Seminary

The Seminary was founded in 1640 by Katarzyna Zamoyska, maiden name Ostrogska...

Mean rating

 
 

Information

The Seminary was founded in 1640 by Katarzyna Zamoyska, maiden name Ostrogska, the wife of Tomasz Zamoyski, the Second Entailer. In 1784 the Seminary was closed down and the building was taken over by the military. At the time of the Congress Kingdom of Poland the building was a seat of the Corps of Engineers, who were engaged in major modernization of Zamość fortress under Jan Mallet-Malletski’s supervision. The Baroque facade of the building is decorated with six Corinthian pilasters, which bind together the second and the third floor. At present the building houses Higher School of Management and Administration.

The landmark is included in audio guides

ipod

The project was co-financed by the EUROPEAN UNION - EUROPEAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FUND under REGIONAL OPERATING PROGRAMME OF THE PROVINCE OF LUBELSKIE FOR 2007-2013© Zamość Town Office